TweetSweep — bulk delete for X

What Happens to My Old Tweets If I Delete the App

When you delete the X app from your phone, you're only getting rid of the app; it does not remove your account or posts. Your tweets are not automatically deleted, your account will still remain active and deletion requires another action on top.

On the left, stacks of social post cards tumble in a heap beside a discarded smartphone; on the right, the same stacks of social post cards sit in neat piles next to an intact smartphone.

What Deleting the App REALLY does

The X app on your phone does not delete anything about your tweets. That your account remains alive and well, every post of yours on the Internet lives on in cyberspace. Anyone with a link can still view everything you have ever posted. The app is merely the method in which you access X — deleting it does not close your account or wipe your information from a server. So it will be identical for the mobile app on both iOS and Android, and this can also be done after clearing your browser cache or deleting the bookmark to x.com. Your posts are on X's end and not on your device, so deleting the app won't stop anybody from seeing any of them.

Sometimes Users associate deleting the app with deleting their account, particularly after a privacy scare and when they need a break from the platform. If your aim is to keep your tweets from public view, deleting the app gets you right back where you started—your entire timeline still in plain sight for anyone who hops on over to check out your profile. The app itself is just a remote for controlling your posts, which still live on X's servers. So if you uninstalled the app and now are wondering why your tweets are still showing up this is why. Any real change you want to make to your account requires a login back on the web or reinstalling the app.

How to Actually Delete Your Tweets

If your worry is that strangers—or a potential recruiter, client, or ex—will see your old tweets, the solution isn't to stop using the app but rather to delete the offending posts. As such, your tweets will forever remain public until you manually delete them (one by one) or bulk downsize through an outside tool such as TweetSweep. Uninstalling the app is not a part of cleaning-up your profile. The app lets you delete every tweet you've ever published, and when you're done, your profile displays an empty timeline. This is the actual solution to your problem.

If you did the above and your tweets are still alive on Twitter, the app should already be uninstalled from your phone — but for extra peace of mind, go into Settings and select to remove it using any web browser on a smartphone or desktop by setting up an account login. You can delete tweets without having the app installed, as x.com is a website that works in any browser. But deleting tweets one by one in the browser takes ages — especially if you have years worth of posts. Used for a full-scale cleansing, bulk deletion tools like TweetSweep connect to your account through the API and delete posts by date, keyword or engagement. This is the most efficient way, if you have more than a few posts to delete.

Your account, subscriptions and data after uninstallation

Your account stays 100% active when you delete the X app. That means your handle has not been freed up, your followers can still see your profile and any X Premium subscription that you pay for continues to renew. Should you subscribe to X Premium, however, you'll need to cancel it separately; in-app or through your app store account (Apple or Google) if you want to stop paying for it. DO NOT UNINSTALL The app does NOT cancel the subscription. This is also true for anything else you pay for, like subscriptions to creators. They continue to process those payments until you cancel them, whether or not the app is on your phone.

Account data — such as your tweets, retweets, likes, DMs and account settings — is also kept on X's servers. Removing the app will not remove all of that data. When logging back in a few hours later, everything is still just where it was last left. The only opportunity for data removal is if you choose to deactivate your account, which puts a 30-day hold on all action before getting deleted. Deactivation is actually an entirely separate process that you have to initiate through the settings menu, and it can't simply be turning off the app. But if you want to erase your posts permanently, you have to delete them one by one and deactivate the account — not just uninstall the app.

Checking What Remains Visible After Uninstallation

Not sure what other users see after you uninstall the app? On a stranger's end, you will be able to see your profile, bio, pinned tweet and the last few posts from yourself. This is the same view that a recruiter or just some random dude on the Internet sees when they click through to your profile. Meaning if you see tweets there that you would prefer not to, you know clearly what needs getting rid of. This is probably the most straightforward way to check the issue after you've removed the app from your phone.

You can also do a Google search for your handle to find out which tweets are indexed by Google. The thing is that those search results are there until X and Google re-index your profile. Even if you deleted the app. If some tweets were already deleted, they will also show up by search for a time, but then they are dropped. Unless you manually deleted some, all your tweets are still there and search engines indexed them a long time ago. The quickest way to verify your public profile actually is what it now says is the private window method without going back in.

If You Want to Go Back, What You Need to Do

If you have deleted the app and wish to get rid of your tweets, you can either download the app from your app store again or use live at x.com through a web browser. After you login again, the deletion procedure can begin. To random message Go to the post and tap on "Delete" from three-dot menu That is available in both the app and the browser. However, if you're dealing with hundreds or thousands of old posts, manually deleting them will take days, if not weeks—X's API only allows a certain number of deletion requests to be made each hour. This is where bulk deletion tool comes handy.

Download your Twitter archive before you bulk delete This is the only full record of your tweeting history, including tweets you have not remembered for a long time. To download the archive, you simply go to your account settings (on desktop), ask X for an archive and they will email you a link (usually within 24-48 hours). Having the archive means you have everything you ever posted on record, permanent even if you post only temporarily to profile. In such an approach, you do not erase your history — you simply hide it from view. If you need to archive tweets of a specific content, there are also options not to delete them in the bulk deletion, these rules say "do not delete this tweet" given by date and/or content.

What if you never logged back in

Even uninstalling the app and never signing back in will leave your tweets live forever. X does not have a policy for automatically deleting accounts or posts at the end of inactivity periods. There are tons of accounts on X that have been dormant for years and still appear in searches and on other people's timelines. This approach is not the solution if you wish for your tweets to vanish, They will stick around as long as there is an X, unless you actively choose to get rid of them.

Uninstalling the app could help you get a breather from the platform but it does not safeguard your privacy and character. The only way not to take your posts down is to delete them. If you feel that the account has no future viability, you can completely deactivate it, which is the most complete removal of everything. Otherwise, this is the best practical bulk deletion within X's rate limits to clear long history. Whatever you choose, just remember that the disappearance of your content is not equal to deleting the app. The posts will continue to exist and be visible to anyone who looks until you delete them.

Ready to clear your timeline?

Pick the days you want gone and TweetSweep clears them from your X account — posts, replies, and reposts. Your first 10 deletions are free.

Sign in with X